Agencies | Online Services | Policies | Transparency.Arkansas.gov
Arkansas State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors
Home
License Renewal
Roster Search
Calendar
Forms and Information
Arkansas Statutes
Rules & Regulations
Continuing Education
Rules and Regulations
Arkansas State Board of Embalmers & Funeral Directors
Rule VII Examinations
(1) Regular examinations shall be held in April and October each year.
(2) Applicants for Embalmer License shall be examined on the following subjects:
(a) Anatomy
(b) Bacteriology
(c) Chemistry
(d) Pathology
(e) Mortuary Law
(f) Embalming
(g) Restorative Art
(h) Mortuary Administration
(i) Subjects the Board deems necessary
(j) An Oral Examination and a Practical Examination may also be given
(3) Applicants for a Funeral Director License shall be given a written and/or oral examination on the following subjects:
(a) Arkansas Laws, Rules and Regulations
(b) Professional Ethics
(c) Public Health Rules and Regulations
(d) Funeral Conduct, including Merchandising and Cost Accounting
(e) Veterans Benefits
(f) Social Security Benefits
(g) Various Forms with Form Numbers
(h) Transportation Rules and Regulations
(i) And such other subjects the Board may deem necessary
(4) (a) Applicants for a Funeral Director License shall be required to score 75 percent on both written and oral examinations in order to successfully pass that examination. Upon passing the examination, the applicant shall be entitled to receive, from the Board, a certificate to practice the Business of Funeral Directing, provided all the other requirements have been met.
(b) Applicants for an Embalmer License shall be required to score a minimum of 75 percent on both written and oral examinations in order to successfully pass that examination. Upon passing the examination, the applicant shall be entitled to receive, from the Board, a certificate to practice the Science of Embalming, provided all the other requirements have been met.
(5) An applicant who has successfully passed the National Conference Examination, given by the Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards, Inc., of the United States, and has been certified to this Board, shall be deemed to possess a knowledge of the Science of Embalming, Sanitation and Disinfection. The written portion of the State examinations may be dispensed with, provided the application is made within one (1) year after the receipt of the National Conference Examination Certificate. Regular application must be made to this Board, oral examination must be taken, and all other requirements must be met by the applicant.
(6) All questions used on examinations are the property of the Board, and must be returned by the applicants with their answers.
(7) Any applicant giving assistance to another applicant or receiving assistance or found to have on his person material of any nature which, in the opinion of the Board, may be used to assist in the examination, shall forfeit the fee paid and be ejected from the examination, and shall not be entitled to any further consideration by the Board.
(8) An applicant may qualify to take the Funeral Director examinations at the completion of eighteen (18) months of his/her apprenticeship or at the semi-annual meeting nearest to his/her completion of the two (2) year term requirement.
(9) Graduates of an accredited Mortuary (Embalming) School shall be immediately eligible to take the Embalmer and Funeral Director Examinations.
Rule VIII License Requirements for Out of State Licenses
Any person holding a valid, unrevoked, and unexpired license as an embalmer or funeral director in another state, U.S. Territory, or Provincial Authority, may apply for a license to practice in this state as an embalmer or funeral director, or both. Application shall be made by filing with the secretary-treasurer of the board a certified statement from the secretary of the examining board of the state, U.S. Territory or Provincial Authority in which the applicant holds his or her license showing the basis upon which the license was issued. Upon receipt of the application, the secretary of the board may issue temporary working numbers, which are valid for one year from the date of issuance. To obtain a license, the applicant shall pass an exam to prove his or her proficiency, including at least, but not limited to, a knowledge of the laws, rules and regulations of this state pertaining to funeral service. The exam may be taken at one of the regularly scheduled exam sessions set by the board. If the board is satisfied with the proficiency of the applicant, upon reciept of the prescribed fees in 17-29-208, a license may be granted

< Back | Next >

Home | License Renewal | Roster Search | Calendar | Forms
Statutes | Rules & Regulations | Continuing Education