
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

If you need to adjust your Arkansas Income Tax Return, you must complete 
either the AR1000A or the AR1000ANR Amended Form.  Do not file a 
second AR1000, AR1000NR, or AR1000S.

This package contains:

 1. Instructions to complete Forms AR1000A and AR1000ANR.

 2. AR1000A - Full Year Resident Form.

 3. AR1000ANR - Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Form.

An Amended Tax Return for refund of overpayment of Arkansas State Income 
Tax must be filed within three (3) years from the time the original return was 
due to be filed or two (2) years from the time the tax was paid, whichever 
period is later.

When filing an Amended Return for the current year, allow time for the original 
AR1000 or AR1000NR return to process.  If you are due a refund on the original 
return, wait until you receive your refund check before you file the Amended 
Return.  Cash the original refund check upon receipt.

If you are notified by the Income Tax Section that there is an error on your 
original return, do not file an Amended Return until you receive 
your refund or Notice of Proposed Billing and/or Tax Adjust-
ment Letter.

If your Federal Return is adjusted by the IRS for any reason, it may change your 
Arkansas income tax liability.  You must file an Amended Return to reflect these 
adjustments within thirty (30) days in accordance with Arkansas tax law.

NOTE:  If amending to change your filing status from Single (Status 1), Unmar-
ried Head of Household (Status 3), or Married Filing Separately on 
Different Returns (Status 5), you cannot add a spouse using Status 
2 or 4 unless the spouse has already filed an AR1000/AR1000NR 
return.

HOW TO COMPLETE FORMS AR1000A/AR1000ANR

The following instructions will apply to both forms unless indicated.

STAPLE ALL REQUIRED W-2(s), 1099(s), SCHEDULES, AND EXPLANA-
TIONS TO THE RETURN ALONG WITH YOUR FEDERAL RETURN, IF 
REQUIRED.

NAME, ADDRESS, AND RESIDENCY

Complete all information regarding name, address, city, state, zip code, social 
security numbers, tax year you are amending, and telephone numbers.  

Be sure to include residency information requested on Form AR1000NR.

FILING STATUS (Lines 1 through 6)

Check the appropriate filing status (Single, Married Filing Joint, etc.).  

PERSONAL CREDITS (Lines 7A through 7D)

Line 7A.  Check the box or boxes that apply to you and/or your spouse.  
(You cannot claim any of these credits for your children or dependents.)  
Multiply the number of boxes checked by $20 (if you are amending tax years 
beginning before December 31, 2004), $21 (if you are amending tax years 
beginning on January 1, 2005 and ending on December 31, 2005), or $22 (if 
you are amending tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006) and enter 
the result in the box to the right.

Line 7B.  Multiply the number of dependents listed by $20 (if you are amend-
ing tax years beginning before December 31, 2004),  $21 (if you are amending 
tax years beginning on January 1, 2005 and ending December 31, 2005), or 
$22 (if you are amending tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006) 
and enter the result in the box to the right.

Line 7C.  Multiply the number of developmentally disabled individuals listed 
by $500 and enter the result in the box to the right.  If you are claiming the 
Developmentally Disabled Individual Credit for the first time, you must attach 
Form AR1000RC5 to the Amended Return. 

Line 7D.  Add the amounts listed in Lines 7A, 7B, and 7C and enter the 
result in the box to the right.

Check if your return was adjusted by the IRS.  ATTACH A COPY OF THE 
FEDERAL REVENUE AGENT’S REPORT.

INCOME (Lines 8 through 12)

Part 1.  Report the information you originally filed on your AR1000/ AR1000NR 
or AR1000S Arkansas Tax Return, or enter the information as it was previ-
ously adjusted.

Part 2.  Report the information that is being adjusted.  Enter the amounts 
as you are amending them.  

IF YOU HAVE A NET CAPITAL GAIN reported on Federal Schedule D, 
Line 15 or Form 1040, Line 13, reduce the amount by 30% before adding it to 
your Total Income.  Short Term Capital Gains are taxed at 100%.  To 
calculate your deduction, use the Capital Gains Worksheet provided 
on the next page. 

NOTE: If you are filing the AR1000A (Full Year Resident), you must list the 
total income from all sources in columns (A) and (B).

If you are filing the AR1000ANR (Nonresident and Part-Year Resident) you 
must list the total income from all sources in columns (A) and (B).  List only 
the Arkansas income in column (C). DO NOT USE THE SHADED AREAS 
IN COLUMN (C).

NOTE:  Support for Permanently Disabled Individual is an adjustment to 
income and not a personal tax credit.  (Developmentally Disabled 
Individual Credit is a personal tax credit.)

Line 11.  Enter your Standard Deduction or Itemized Deductions, whichever 
is greater.  If you change the “Itemized Deduction Schedule,”  be sure to at-
tach an amended copy.

NOTE: If you qualify for and use the Low Income Tax Table, enter zero (0) 
on Line 11.  The Standard Deduction is already calculated for you 
and is built into the low income tax table.

Line 12.  Subtract Line 11 from Line 10.  This is your Net Taxable Income.

TAX COMPUTATION (Lines 13 through 18) 

NOTE: Use the appropriate tax tables for the year you are amend-
ing. You can access the tax tables on the internet at 
www.arkansas.gov/dfa/yourtaxes/ or call 501-682-1100.

For both forms AR1000A and AR1000ANR, use the net taxable income from 
columns (A) and (B).  The amounts in these columns reflect the total income 
from all sources. Nonresidents/part-year residents filing the AR1000ANR 
– USE COLUMNS (A) AND (B) TO COMPUTE THE TAX FROM THE TAX 
TABLES. Your tax liability will be prorated in the tax apportionment section 
on Page 2 of AR1000ANR.

Line 13.  Select the correct tax table and enter the amount of tax on this line.

STATE OF ARKANSAS
Amended Individual Income Tax Return and Instructions



Line 14. Enter the total of Lines 13(A) and 13(B) on Line 14.

Line 15. For tax years 2003 and 2004, multiply the amount on Line 14 by 3% 
(.03) and enter the result on this line. Taxpayers claiming the Border City Ex-
emption for 2003 and 2004 must use the Income Tax Surcharge Worksheet.

Lines 16 and 17. Enter the amount of tax from the averaging schedule 
(AR1000TD) on Line 16 and IRA withdrawal and/or overpayment penalties 
on Line 17.  (Be sure to attach any applicable schedules.)

Line 18. Enter the total of Lines 14 through 17. 

TAX CREDITS (Lines 19 through 27)

NOTE: The credit for taxes paid to another state is not available to nonresidents 
but may be partially available to part-year residents. The working 
taxpayer credit is not available for tax years after 2002.

Line 27. Add Lines 19 through 26 and enter the total credits on Line 27.

TAX LIABILITY (Lines 28 and 29)

AR1000A – FULL YEAR RESIDENTS ONLY – Subtract Line 27 from Line 
18 and enter this amount on Lines 28 and 29.

AR1000ANR – NONRESIDENTS AND PART-YEAR RESIDENTS ONLY 
– Subtract Line 27 from Line 18 and enter this amount on Lines 28 and 29. 
This is your net tax before apportionment. 

TAX APPORTIONMENT (FOR USE WITH AR1000ANR ONLY) 

If you are using AR1000ANR, enter the adjusted income from Line 10, part 2, 
Column (C) on Line 29A.  Divide the amount on Line 29A by the amount on 
Line 29B. On Line 29C, enter your percentage as a whole number, 
rounding the percentage to the nearest whole percent.  

If your percentage is less than 1%: Do not round to zero, carry the 
figure out to six additional places to the right of the decimal.

This percentage represents the ratio between your Arkansas income and your 
total income (your Arkansas percentage of income).  Multiply the tax liability 
on Line 29 by the percentage on Line 29C and enter result on Line 29D.  This 
amount is your Arkansas apportioned tax liability.

PAYMENTS (Lines 30 through 37)

Enter all payments on Lines 30 through 34 and enter the total of these pay-
ments on Line 35.  If you have been issued a corrected W-2, be sure to 
attach the state copy.  On Line 36, enter the amount of any previous over-
payment/refund/estimate carried forward from your original tax return and/or 
any previous amended tax return.  The amount of overpayment/refund is the 
gross amount of your refund and may not necessarily be the amount of your 
refund check.  Check the overpayment/refund line on your original tax return.  
Subtract Line 36 from 35. This is the amount which will be applied to your 
Arkansas tax liability.

REFUND OR AMOUNT DUE

If Line 37 is greater than Line 29 of the AR1000A or Line 29D of the 
AR1000ANR, you have overpaid your tax.  Enter the difference on Line 38. 
This is your refund.

If Line 29 of the AR1000A or Line 29D of the AR1000ANR is greater than 
Line 37, you owe additional tax.  Enter the difference on Line 39.  This is 
the amount you owe. (You cannot use your estimate carryforward from your 
AR1000/AR1000NR to pay the amount due on an Amended Return.)

You must provide a complete explanation of your reasons for 
filing the Arkansas Amended Return.  Be sure to attach all necessary 
documentation and additional schedules.  If you have been audited by the 
Internal Revenue Service, be sure to attach a complete copy of the Federal 
Audit.  Failure to attach the proper documentation could delay the processing 
of your amended return.

Mail your Amended Return to: Arkansas State Income Tax
 Amended Tax Section
 P.O. Box 3628
 Little Rock, AR 72203-3628

If you owe tax, make your check or money order payable to Department 
of Finance and Administration.

Be sure to write your Social Security Number and the tax year 
on your check.

If you have any questions concerning the Arkansas Amended Tax Form, con-
tact the Arkansas Income Tax Section at either (501) 682-1100 or toll free at 
1-800-882-9275 and access the Amended segment of the recording.

CAPITAL GAIN OR LOSS WORKSHEET
Complete this worksheet if you have a NET CAPITAL GAIN OR LOSS reported on Federal Schedule D.  If Schedule D is not required, but a gain is 
reported on Federal Form 1040, Line 13, complete this worksheet.  Arkansas has not adopted federal bonus depreciation or the increased Internal Revenue 
Code §179 provisions. These and any other differences should be reconciled using the adjustment lines in the worksheet below.

 1. Enter Federal Long-Term Capital Gain or Loss reported on Line 15, 
  Federal Schedule D or Form 1040, Line 13 ..................................1
 2. Enter adjustment, if any, for differences in federal and state  
  amounts ....................................................................................................................................2
 3. Arkansas Long-Term Capital Gain or Loss, add (or subtract) Line 1 and Line 2 ......................3
 4. Enter Federal Net Short-Term Capital Loss, if any, reported 
  on Line 7, Federal Schedule D ......................................................4
 5. Enter adjustment, if any, for differences in federal and state  
  amounts ....................................................................................................................................5
 6. Arkansas Net Short-Term Capital Loss, add (or subtract) Line 4 and Line 5 ...........................6
 7. Arkansas Net Capital Gain or Loss, (If gain, subtract Line 6 from 3. If loss, add Lines 6 and 3) ....7
 8. Arkansas Taxable Amount, if a gain multiply Line 7 by 70 percent (.70), otherwise enter loss .......8
 9. Enter Federal Short-Term Capital Gain, if any, reported on 
  Line 7, Federal Schedule D ...........................................................9
 10. Enter adjustment, if any, for differences in federal and state  
  amounts ..................................................................................................................................10
 11. Arkansas Short-Term Capital Gain, add (or subtract) Line 9 and Line 10 .............................. 11
 12. Total taxable Arkansas Capital Gain or Loss, add Lines 8 and 11, enter here
  and include in Total Income, Line 8, Form AR1000A/AR1000ANR ........................................12 
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