
 

                                                  
                                                   

 

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
COSMETOLOGY SECTION 
4815 West Markham, Slot 8 

Little Rock, AR  72205-- (501) 682-2168 
 
 
 

HOW DO I GET AN ARKANSAS LICENSE? 
 

Reciprocity Requirements 
Summary 

 
1)  Fill out the Reciprocity Form (enclosed) and return it to the Cosmetology 
Section (address located at the top of this form) along with required documents 
and the $150 non-refundable reciprocity fee. (This fee does not cover any 
examination costs.) 

 
2)  Contact your state board office where you are currently licensed and request 
that a certification of your licensure record (affidavit) be mailed directly to the 
Cosmetology Section. 

 
a)  If you were examined in a state other than the state in which you are 
currently licensed, then you must request a certification of your examination 
record from that state board.  (This is in addition to the certification listed in 
item #2.)  The certification of your examination record must be mailed directly 
to the Cosmetology Section. 

 
b)  Proof of training must be certified by applicable state.  Certification must 
provide name of school attended, city and state school is located and number of 
hours accrued. 

 
3)  You will be notified when items #1 and #2 are received.  Read all 
instructions, enclosed, for additional steps/requirements in obtaining an Arkansas 
license. 

 
A practitioner and/or instructor working without a current Arkansas license is 
in violation of the Cosmetology Code and will be subject to a disciplinary 
hearing before the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee. 
 

 
 
 



 

                                                  
                                                   

 
ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
COSMETOLOGY SECTION  
4815 West Markham, Slot 8 
Little Rock, AR  72205  
(501) 682-2168 

 

Instructions:  Please review the reciprocity requirements and process on the back of this form before completing.  When you are 
ready to complete this form, please do so by printing the information in blue or black ink. This form is required if you are transferring 
from another state/country and you want to become licensed in the state of Arkansas.  There is a $150 non-refundable reciprocity fee 
due at the time you submit this form and the required attachments.  This fee does not cover any examination costs. 
  
Applicant’s Name 

Last Name 
 
 

First Name (no nickname) Middle Name 

Maiden Name (if applicable) List any other last names you have ever used 
 

Address  
 
 

Apt. # City County State Zip Code 

Telephone Number 
(        )   

Gender 
             MALE           FEMALE 

Marital Status 

Social Security Number 
 

Date of Birth Place of birth (city/state/country) 
 

Race (circle one):  
    Black                  White                 Am. Indian              
              Hispanic                Asian                         Alaskan Native   

In what language do you prefer to take the written/state law exam? 
 
  ENGLISH          SPANISH          VIETNAMESE          KOREAN          

 
Licensing Information 

What type of license do you 
currently hold?   (circle one) 
 

 
Cosmetology 

 
Manicure 

 
Aesthetician 

 
Instructor 

 
Electrology 

Did you take a national written examination?  
   

YES           NO 

Did you take a national practical examination? 
    

YES           NO 

In what state did you take the examination? 
 

Please list all the states that you have held a license. 
 
 

 
Training Information 

What cosmetology school did you attend?    
                                                                                 

City/State/County    
                                                                                

Date training began Date training completed Total number hours completed Type of training completed 
 

What high school did you attend?    
                                                                                   

City/State/County    
                                                                                   

Year Completed Grade Completed 
 

 
Applicant Signature:  By signing this application, I certify that the information provided is correct to the best of my knowledge and that 
I understand that false statements will be sufficient grounds for the Board to take disciplinary action.    

Date Applicant’s Printed Name Applicant’s Signature 

 
DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY                                                                                                    Revised 10.09 

 
Date ________                                         Date ________                                 Date _______ 
Written Core Score  _____________       Written Law Score __________       Practical Score ____________  

 
License #_______________  
                                      
Receipt # ______________ 



 

                                                  
                                                   

 
Reciprocity Requirements 

 
In order to reciprocate into the cosmetology industry in Arkansas, the following general requirements must be met: 

1. The applicant must be at least 18 years of age for Cosmetology, Manicure, or Aesthetics; the applicant must 
be 21 years of age for Instructor or Electrology. 

2. The applicant must have passed both a written and practical national or Department-approved 
examination; 

3. The applicant must have a current, valid license issued under the laws of another state; 
4. The scope of practice for which the applicant is licensed in another state must be equal to or greater than 

the particular class of license that the applicant is applying for in the State of Arkansas.  To be licensed in 
this state in one of the occupations listed below, the scope of practice for which the applicant is licensed in 
another state must include the following: 
 Cosmetologist - hairdressing, manicuring, nail extensions, aesthetics 
 Manicurist - manicure, pedicure, nail extensions 
 Aesthetics - skin care, facials, cosmetic applications 
 Instructor - certified to teach within the cosmetology industry 
 Electrology - permanent hair removal by an electric needle or any other kind of device  

   designed to permanently remove hair 
5. Pass an Arkansas state law exam. 

 
Reciprocity Process 

 
An applicant must complete the following process to be eligible for an Arkansas license through reciprocity: 

1. Contact the State Board in which you are currently licensed and request that they send your license 
certification to our office.  The address to send it is located at the top of the previous page. 

2. Complete the Reciprocity Form (this form) and submit it to our office, along with the following: 
a. A copy of your current out-of-state license; 
b. A copy of your social security card; 
c. A 2 x 2 colored head and shoulder photograph; 
d. A copy of your driver’s license or other government issued photo-identification license; 
e. A check or money order for the $150 reciprocity fee. (Fee is non-refundable) 

 
When the Cosmetology Section receives all information listed above, a determination will be made concerning the 
examination(s) you will be required to pass in order to become licensed in this state.  At that time, a letter will be 
sent informing you how to schedule for your practical examination and/or how to contact PSI to schedule the 
written or State Law examination.  Payment for the practical examination must be made to The Cosmetology 
Section and payment for the written examination must be paid directly to PSI, as the letter will explain. 
 
 If you have passed a written and practical national or Department-approved examination, then you will 

only be required to pass an Arkansas state law exam. 
 
 If you have not passed a written and practical national or Department-approved examination, then you 

will be required to pass the written, practical and state law exams administered in Arkansas. 
 
 
No person may practice or teach any phase of Cosmetology in this State until licensed by the Department of Health 
Cosmetology Section.  
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