ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
COSMETOLOGY SECTION
4815 West Markham, Slot 8
Little Rock, AR 72205 — (501) 682-2168

RECIPROCITY REQUIREMENTS
For APPLICANTS LICENSED IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY

Any person licensed in a foreign country is required to pass a written and practical examination administered by the Cosmetology
Section to qualify for a license in this State. All documents submitted for the purpose of complying with the requirements for
examination shall be original copies and translated in the English language.

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:

1.

2.

Complete an Arkansas Reciprocity Application (enclosed).

Proof of Training and Licensure. Submit the following requirements:

a)

b)

c)

An affidavit certifying that you have completed the minimum number of clock-hours in one of the prescribed courses
of study listed below. The affidavit must be completed and signed by an Official of the licensing entity that has
jurisdiction over the practice of Cosmetology in said foreign country. Either the licensing entity seal or notary public
seal must be affixed to said document.

1) 1500 hours for cosmetologist 3) 600 hours for electrologist
2) 600 hours for manicurist 4) 600 hours for aesthetician

A breakdown of the curriculum requirements for said course.

A license issued by the foreign country and a diploma issued from the training institute where applicant completed
the course of study.

A legible copy of applicant’'s Social Security Card.

High school credit of not less than two years (10" grade) or its equivalent for cosmetologists, aestheticians or manicurists and
four years (12™ grade) or its equivalent for electrologist.

Birth Certificate

Photostatic copy of photo ID (must be legible)

Reciprocity Fee of $150.00 and Practical Examination Fee of $65.00

All requirements for the examination must be submitted at the same time, on or before the deadline date of the
examination you wish to take (contact the Cosmetology Section’s office for a list of dates or visit our website at
www.arkansas.gov/cos.) If you fail to submit all of the requirements, your papers will be returned. You should hold your
papers until you can submit all requirements to our office.

NO PERSON MAY PRACTICE OR TEACH ANY PHASE OF COSMETOLOGY IN THIS STATE UNTIL
LICENSED BY THE COSMETOLOGY SECTION.



ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
COSMETOLOGY SECTION

4815 West Markham, Slot 8

Little Rock, AR 72205

(501) 682-2168

Reciptocity Form

Instructions: Please review the reciprocity requirements and process on the back of this form before completing. When you
are ready to complete this form, please do so by printing the information in blue or black ink. This form is required if you are
transferring from another state/country and you want to become licensed in the state of Arkansas. There is a $150 reciprocity fee
due at the time you submit this form and the required attachments. This fee does not cover any examination costs.

Applicant’s Name

Last Name

First Name (no nickname)

Middle Name

Maiden Name (if applicable)

List any other last names you have ever used

Address Apt. # | City

County State Zip Code

Telephone Number Gender
( ) MALE

Marital Status
FEMALE

Social Security Number Date of Birth

Place of birth (city/state/country)

Race (circle one):

In what language do you prefer to take the written/state law exam?

Black White Am. Indian
Hispanic Asian Alaskan Native | ENGLISH ~ SPANISH  VIETNAMESE  KOREAN
Licensing Information
What type of license do you ) o
currently hold? (circle one) Cosmetology Manicure Aesthetician Instructor Electrology

Did you take a national written examination?

YES NO

Did you take a national practical examination?

YES NO

In what state did you take the examination?

Please list all the states that you have held a license.

Training Information

What cosmetology school did you attend?

City/State/County

Date training began Date training completed

Total number hours completed Type of training completed

What high school did you attend?

City/State/County

Year Completed

Grade Completed

Applicant Signature: By signing this application, I certify that the information provided is correct to the best of my knowledge and
that | understand that false statements will be sufficient grounds for the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee to take

disciplinary action.

Applicant’s Printed Name Applicant’s Signature

Date

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE - FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Revised 10.09

Date
Written Core Score

Date
Written Law Score

Date License #
Practical Score

Receipt #




	Applicant’s Name
	Last Name
	First Name (no nickname)
	Middle Name
	Licensing Information
	Training Information

